Add a bookmark to get started

People default image

Carlton Davis

Of Counsel

Carlton Davis is an Of Counsel in the Regulatory and Government Affairs practice group in the Washington, D.C. office.

Carlton worked on Capitol Hill for more than 10 years and was the Chief Investigative Counsel for multiple House committees. He led over a dozen high-profile investigations into the White House and federal cabinet agencies including the Departments of Justice, State, Defense, and Treasury, as well as private industries such as energy, finance, global health, and professional sports. He conducted dozens of depositions to include senior industry witnesses and White House staff. He has managed congressional investigations from all angles and knows the intricacies of the process as well as anybody.

Carlton also served a stint at the Department of Justice, where he worked in the Office of the Deputy Attorney General and was a special assistant United States Attorney. Most recently, Carlton was an assistant attorney general in Virginia where he helped manage a high-profile investigation and oversaw a special grand jury that returned multiple indictments of public officials.

Carlton is an expert at working in crisis environments and brings extensive experience in media relations. He has significant experience leading congressional and government investigations and defending clients during such inquiries.

Bar admissionsDistrict of ColumbiaVirginia
  • J.D., University of Virginia School of Law 2010

  • B.A., Swarthmore College 2004
    cum laude

Prior Experience

  • Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Commonwealth of Virginia, 2022
  • Chief Investigative Counsel, House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, 2020 - 2021
  • Chief Investigative Counsel, House Committee on the Judiciary, 2019
  • Office of the Deputy Attorney General and Special Assistant United States Attorney, Department of Justice, 2018
  • Senior Counsel, House Select Committee on Benghazi, 2014 - 2017
  • Counsel, House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, 2011 - 2013