Webinar: independent contractor or employee?

The question all retailers should be asking

8 NOV 2017
Webinar

While a company might pay an independent contractor and an employee for the same or similar work, there are fundamental differences between the two. Understanding these distinctions is critical to your business, as the two statuses involve unique employment, labor and wage laws.

Please join DLA Piper's Employment practice and Retail sector for a 60-minute webinar where our panelists will review key employment issues that arise for retailers, the rise of the gig economy and how retailers are utilizing independent contractors during this unprecedented period of disruption in retail. We will also examine proactive approaches companies should consider to avoid legal issues in the future.

Our team will underscore the importance of understanding the roles and responsibilities of all parties, bringing to light this hot topic that is impacting businesses right now.

PANELISTS
Ann Lawrence – Global Co-Chair, Retail Sector, DLA Piper
David Durham – Partner, Employment Practice, DLA Piper
Guissu Baier – Vice President of Human Resources, Instacart
Sandro Garofalo, Esq. – Director, Employee & Labor Relations Counsel, Target Corporation

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 8, 2017
11:00 a.m. Pacific
1:00 p.m. Central
2:00 p.m. Eastern

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Please contact Anne Nikolaus