Add a bookmark to get started

23 February 20249 minute read

US House of Representatives launches AI Task Force

Top congressional leaders have announced the creation of a bipartisan Task Force on Artificial Intelligence “to explore how Congress can ensure America continues to lead the world in AI innovation while considering guardrails that may be appropriate to safeguard the nation against current and emerging threats.” The creation of this new Task Force, along with its mandate, signals an upcoming increase in House activity related to AI issues, which will be important to closely monitor.

House Speaker Mike Johnson and Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries made the joint announcement on February 20, 2024. The two leaders each appointed 12 representatives from their respective sides of the aisle.

The 24-member Task Force will be chaired by Representative Jay Obernolte (R-CA), with Representative Ted Lieu (D-CA) serving as co-chair. Representatives Obernolte and Lieu, as well as other Task Force members, have been among the most active lawmakers on AI issues. The membership represents a cross-section of key committees with jurisdiction over tech issues.

The announcement stated, “The Task Force will seek to produce a comprehensive report that will include guiding principles, forward-looking recommendations and bipartisan policy proposals developed in consultation with committees of jurisdiction.”

Concurrently, an informal bipartisan working group of senators, led by Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY), is also in the process of preparing a report outlining a framework for AI regulatory policy priorities arising from a series of closed-door AI Insight Forums. These forums, held last fall, included presentations from industry leaders, labor, civil society and privacy advocates, researchers and academics, and others who identified both the potential risks of AI and the innovative opportunities.

Many members of the new Task Force are also on the Congressional Artificial Intelligence Caucus in the House, including Representatives Obernolte and Lieu, as well as Caucus Co-Chair Anna Eshoo (D-CA) and Co-Vice Chair Don Beyer (D-VA). The Senate additionally has its own 17-member bipartisan AI Caucus.

The members of the House Task Force on Artificial Intelligence are as follows:

Representative Jay Obernolte (CA-23),Chair

Representative Ted Lieu (CA-36),Co-Chair

Representative Darrell Issa (CA-48)

Representative Anna Eshoo (CA-16)

Representative French Hill (AR-02)

Representative Yvette Clarke (NY-09)

Representative Michael Cloud (TX-27)

Representative Bill Foster (IL-11)

Representative Neal Dunn (FL-02)

Representative Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01)

Representative Ben Cline (VA-06)

Representative Ami Bera (CA-06)

Representative Kat Cammack (FL-03)

Representative Don Beyer (VA-08)

Representative Scott Franklin (FL-18)

Representative Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14)

Representative Michelle Steel (CA-45)

Representative Haley Stevens (MI-11)

Representative Eric Burlison (MO-07)

Representative Sara Jacobs (CA-51)

Representative Laurel Lee (FL-15)

Representative Valerie Foushee (NC-04)

Representative Rich McCormick (GA-06)

Representative Brittany Pettersen (CO-07)