Add a bookmark to get started

Website Hero Abstract Architectural Shapes
12 November 202112 minute read

DLA Piper Canada recommended by Legal 500 Canada 2022

DLA Piper (Canada) LLP and its lawyers have been recommended in the latest edition of the Legal 500 ‎Canada.

The Legal 500 series is widely acknowledged as one of the world’s largest legal referral guides, with the Canada guide recognizing the best Canadian firms and lawyers practicing within the Canadian market. Results are based on extensive research conducted by the directory over the course of the year, including in-depth submissions and thousands of interviews with client and industry leaders. 

DLA Piper Canada has 47 lawyers listed across 15 practice areas in the 2022 guide. For the first time, our technology practice was ranked, with Ryan Black, Robert Fonn, Morgan McDonald, Michael Reid ‎and Denis Silva listed as key lawyers. The firm once more received a top ranking for our Infrastructure and Projects, Aviation and Rail and Road practice groups.

Special recognition goes to Sangeetha Punniyamoorthy, recognized as a Leading Lawyer in the area of Intellectual Property and to Natasha Rana (Infrastructure and Projects) and Jonathon Ward (Employment), both of whom are recognized as Rising Stars for the first time. Katrina Edgerton-McGhan is also once more recognized as a Rising Star for Dispute Resolution.

Leading Lawyers who repeated their ranking this year are Ian Bendell (Projects), Andrew Burton (Projects), Michael Ford, Q.C. (Employment), Forrest Hume (Transportation), Catherine Pawluch (Transportation), Laura Safran, Q.C. (Transportation), Bruce Stratton (IP) and Brian Tsuji (Immigration).

The following lawyers appeared in the 2022 edition of Legal 500 Canada:


Business Immigration
  • Brian Tsuji (Leading Lawyer)
  • Robert Fonn (Next Generation Partner)
  • Colin Brousson
  • Michael Reid
  • Derek Sigel
  • Denis Silva
Competition and Antitrust
  • David Neave
  • Catherine Pawluch
  • Kevin Wright
Corporate and M&A
  • Robert Fonn (Next Generation Partner)
  • Ryan Black
  • Ted Maduri
  • Michael Reid
  • Denis Silva
Dispute Resolution
  • Katrina Edgerton-McGhan (Rising Star)
  • Derek Bell
  • Jordan Deering
  • David Foulds
  • John Landry
  • David Neave
  • Patrick Roche
  • Heather Treacy, Q.C.
  • Jennifer Cleall
  • Robert Seidel, Q.C.
Indigenous Law
  • Heather Treacy, Q.C.
Infrastructure and Projects - Tier 1
  • Ian Bendell (Leading Lawyer)
  • Andrew Burton (Leading Lawyer)
  • Natasha Rana (Rising Star)
  • Elizabeth Mayer
  • Mitchell Mostyn
Intellectual Property
  • Bruce Stratton (Leading Lawyer)
  • Sangeetha Punniyamoorthy (Leading Lawyer)
  • Chris Bennett
  • Bentley Gaikis
  • Alan Macek
  • Geoff Mowatt
Labour and Employment
  • Michael Ford, Q.C. (Leading Lawyer)
  • Jonathon Ward (Rising Star)
  • Ryan Campbell
  • Correna Jones
  • Richard Nixon
  • Allen Soltan
Public Procurement
  • Elizabeth Mayer
  • Mitchell Mostyn
  • David Stratton, Q.C.
Real Estate and Construction
  • Howard Krupat
  • Mark Schmidt
  • Franco Trasolini
Restructuring and Insolvency
  • Brian Davison, Q.C.
  • Colin Brousson
  • Edmond Lamek
  • Jerritt Pawlyk
  • Ryan Black
  • Robert Fonn
  • Morgan McDonald
  • Michael Reid
  • Denis Silva
Transport: Aviation - Tier 1
  • Catherine Pawluch (Leading Lawyer)
  • Laura Safran, Q.C. (Leading Lawyer)
  • Andrew McFarlane
  • David Neave
Transport: Other - Tier 1
  • Forrest Hume (Leading Lawyer)
  • John Landry